Research group

From left to right: Priyanka, Kaisa Lehosmaa, Saija Ahonen (collaborator from Markkola & Ruotsalainen group), Toni Jernfors (collaborator from Phill Watts's group), Janne Koskimäki, Namrata Baruah, Anna Maria Pirttilä, Phuong Nguyen




Present group:

Dr. Janne Koskimäki, post-doc

Ph.D. in 2016 "Interaction between Methylobacterium endophytes and Scots pine (Pinus sylvestris L.)". He is characterizing molecules and genes involved in intracellular life of M. extorquens DSM13060 and mechanisms used by the bacterium to manipulate host cell.

Dr. Kaisa Lehosmaa, post-doc

Ph.D. in 2018 "Anthropogenic impacts and restoration of boreal spring ecosystems". She is studying the moss Warnstorfia fluitans and its microbial symbionts for phytoremediation of mining and municipal wastewaters.

M.Sc. Namrata Baruah, Ph.D. student

Namrata has graduated from Assam Agricultural University, AAU, Jorhat, Assam, India. She is studying the mechanisms by which endosymbiotic Methylobacterium extorquens DSM13060 manipulates the pine host and induces plant growth.

 M.Sc. Pirjo Koivusaari, Ph.D. student

Pirjo has graduated from the University of Oulu with the title "Endophyte communities in bud meristems of mountain birch recovered from moth herbivory".

 M.Sc. Phuong Nguyen, Ph.D. student

Phuong has graduated from Kyung Hee University, Yongin City, Republic of Korea. She is studying the endophytic community composition in bilberry fruits and their influences on berry secondary metabolism.

 M.Sc. Habibollah Mohammadparast, Ph.D. student

Habibollah has graduated from Panjab University, Chandigarh, India. He is studying the endophyte Pseudomonas synxantha DSM13080 and its interaction with the host Scots pine.


Past members:

Dr. Jaanika Edesi, Ph.D. in 2018: "The effect of light spectral quality on cryopreservation success of potato (Solanum tuberosum L.) shoot tips in vitro"

Xavier Rey Velasco (2018) - visiting M.Sc. student

Aleksi Husso (2017) - M.Sc. student

Marta Masó-Martínez (2017) - visiting M.Sc. student

Dr. Mysore V. Tejesvi (2008-2014) - post-doc

Dr. Mahmoud F. Elsebai (2012-2014) - post doc

M.Sc. Syed Baker (2013-2014) - visiting Ph. D. student

Dr. Pavlo Ardanov, Ph.D. in 2013: "Priming capacities of endophytic Methylobacterium sp. on potato (Solanum tuberosum L)".

Johanna Pohjanen (2009-2015) - Ph.D. student

Kaisa Haapala (2009-2013) - Ph.D. student

Emmi-Leena Ihantola (2011-2013) - M. Sc. student

Dr. Pere Picart Faiget (2009-2010) - post doc

M.Sc. Terttu Kämäräinen-Karppinen (2007-2009) - researcher

Elina Hankala (2008-2010) -  M. Sc. student

Catherine Fallecker (2008-2009) - visiting M.Sc. student

Olga Podolich (2006-2007) - visiting Ph. D. student

Katharina Palmer (2006-2007) - visiting M.Sc. student




Dr. Annamari Markkola, Ecology and Genetics, University of Oulu, Finland

Dr. Annu Ruotsalainen, Biodiversity Unit, University of Oulu, Finland

Dr. Piippa Wäli, Ecology and Genetics, University of Oulu, Finland

Prof. Hely Häggman, Ecology and Genetics, University of Oulu, Finland

Prof. Timo Muotka, Ecology and Genetics, University of Oulu, Finland

Prof. Phillip Watts, Ecology and Genetics, University of Oulu, Finland

Dr. Heikki Mykrä, Finnish Environmental Institute (SYKE), Oulu, Finland

Dr. Terhi Tapiainen, Pediatrics, Oulu University Hospital, Finland

Juhani Lahdenperä, Biotech Startup Management

Kari Lehmussaari, Science and Technology Forum

Prof. Kai Kaarniranta, University of Eastern Finland, Kuopio, Finland

Prof. Arto Urtti, University of Eastern Finland, Kuopio, Finland

Prof. Anu Kauppinen, University of Eastern Finland, Kuopio, Finland

Dr. Sampo Mattila, Chemistry, University of Oulu, Finland

Dr. Angela Sessitsch and Silvia Fluch, Austrian Research Centre Seibersdorf, Seibersdorf, Austria

Dr. Natalia Kozyrovska, Institute of Molecular Biology&Genetics of NASU, Acad. Zabolotnoho, Kyiv, Ukraine

Prof. Carolin Frank, University of California Merced, Merced, CA, USA

Prof. Ewa Mellerowitz, Umeå Plant Science Center, SLU, Umeå, Sweden

Dr. Julia Vorholt, ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland

Dr. Jennifer Pett-Ridge, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL), Livermore, CA, USA